Relationships

This post is as random as the others. Essentially this blog serves my purpose of capturing fleeting ideas in their raw form. Sometimes, I also get out of my bed deep into the night to write a post, to make sure my thoughts do not drift away . I’m sure all writers experience this often. And well, I’m lazy too. Some nights I procrastinate a great deal and the next morning all I know is that the muse that was getting me all excited about something has disappeared, the ideas dispersed like seeds to barren lands.

So tonight, I’m back to my blog. Tonight is the auspicious day of Durga Ashtami. No, I’m not going to write a spiritual post..I’m no longer naive. I’m now more interested in the lesser known sacred archetypes and how they help us define our life. But about that, later, in some other post. Well, on Durga Ashtami day, I’ve always experienced a longing of some kind, (which I now call my soul thirst) which is fulfilled only through a creative pursuit such as engaging in a ritual or other artistic pursuit such as writing. It is said that the spiritual energies are at their peak on this day, and I’d like to believe that.

So, here I am, feeling ecstatic and venting it all in the form of words. I’m not going to ramble on. I never pen my thoughts unless I can provide a definite message. Tonight, I’ve been dwelling upon relationships that we have with other people. Well, this area of life is an utter mess for quite a lot of people. I’m not going to state the cliched statements of how ego ruins relationships. It’s time to go beyond that. Ego cannot be eliminated, though it can be ignored after a great deal of practice. What I’ve come to observe is that we have been conditioned to look upon ourselves as ‘me’ and the others as ‘they’. It is always a one versus the other situation which we are trained to look upon since birth. How fanatically we name our child and then religiously teach him his name!

Haven’t you wondered how our perspectives about our parents change as we grow…Parents have always been the same. But with each year, we perceive them in a different light. (If you are lucky enough, you will understand the significance of the choices that they make.) So, why do our perspectives shift? The only logical reason is that the change happens within us. As a rule parents always react when they respond to a child. A child always reacts when he responds back. And this is because we always treat each other as different from us. This locks us in a conflict. And with time the conflict gets deeper and unsolvable. That was the only message of the novel ‘Frankenstein’.

The only way to resolve this conflict is to start treating the other as a part of our self. Just like we do not want to hurt a part of our body, we must not hurt the other. This is the only lesson that we need to learn in life. In other words, all the spiritual practices are geared towards this outcome. And the moment we learn this and start practicing it, life changes for the better!

But then there is hate, envy, greed and vanity. And overcoming these emotions can be a humongous task. But then these are partly nurtured. It is not human nature to harbor these emotions. It is human nature to transform and transcend these emotions..! And today is the day when this transcendence is celebrated. Today on Durga Ashtami day the Goddess Durga destroys an evil demon called Mahishasura. The demon stands for all these negative emotions that we harbor and the goddess stands for the energy that we need to annihilate these demons.

So celebrate this day and your ability to transcend!

[Mark 12:31: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”]

Leave a Reply

